Book Blitz: Midnight Fire Series by Kaitlyn Davis (spotlight, excerpt, giveaway)

Midnight Fire Series

midnight fire books

Midnight Fire Series
written by Kaitlyn Davis
published by Kaitlyn Davis

find it here: (affiliate links) Barnes & Noble, Amazon, Smashwords, Goodreads

About the book – from Goodreads: From bestselling author Kaitlyn Davis comes a paranormal romance perfect for fans of Twilight, The Vampire Diaries, and Buffy The Vampire Slayer.

“With one last look, one final search of the lines of his face for some sign, Kira turned and ran away from the sound of the man she loved laughing in the face of her death.”

When Kira Dawson moves to South Carolina, she meets Luke, a blond goofball who quickly becomes her best friend, and Tristan, a mysterious bad boy who sends shivers down her spine. Kira knows they’re keeping secrets, but when she discovers Tristan’s lust for blood and her own dormant mystical powers, Kira is forced to fight for her life and make the heartbreaking decision between the familiar comfort of friendship and the fiery passion of love.efcexcerpt

“But soft what light through yonder window breaks. It is the east and Juliet is the sun. Arise fair sun and kill the envious moon, who is already sick and pale with grief that thou her maid art far more fair than she.” Kira couldn’t help but laugh at Tristan as he speedily grumbled out the lines without even an ounce of passion.

“You know this is supposed to be a love scene, right?” He looked up at her with contempt while she tried to swallow her smile.

“Oh, really? I hadn’t noticed.” He looked back down at the page and continued to read aloud in his monotone voice, totally ignoring her, which just prompted her to continue.

“Look, Tristan, there’s no point hiding the fact that you like me, from me I mean. I flipped through your notebook again after I saw that you’d left it behind. I saw the drawings you made of me.” He looked up at her then, and Kira handed his small moleskin back to him, happy to at least have that out of the way. For some reason, she thought he was looking at her like she was an unruly child who wouldn’t follow instructions. Where he got that from, she had no idea, but he continued with his speech so she continued talking over him.

“They were really great actually, pretty flattering,” she smiled, hoping he would look at her again but he didn’t. “Anyway, I think we should talk about what happened, not here obviously, but somewhere where we can meet in private.” They both chose that moment to look around, and Kira saw they had the attention of both Luke and Tristan’s friends. Yeah, she thought, the classroom was definitely not the right place to have this conversation, and she kind of hoped talking would lead to other things like it had last time…

He finished reading his lines. “Hey Juliet, it’s your turn.” He smirked.

“Oh, right,” she looked down at her book. “O Romeo, Romeo, wherefore art though Romeo,” she tried to copy his apathetic style of reading and was secretly overjoyed when he laughed at her.

“I get it, I sounded like an idiot.” She just continued on, giving him the same silent treatment he had given her. “Okay, here’s the truth Kira. We can’t talk here and we shouldn’t even be talking now or maybe ever.”

“You told me that already.” She stopped reading.

“Yet, you seem to have trouble understanding it. English is your first language, right?” She rolled her eyes at the joke. “Like I said before, we just can’t ever be.”

“I understand what you’re saying, but I also know you don’t mean it.” She leaned closer to him to prevent being overheard.

“I do,” he forced the point.

“Oh really,” she tried to push him now. “It didn’t seem that way when you kissed me.”

“Kira, forget that ever happened, okay?”

“Or what? You don’t scare me.”

“I should,” he said and shot Kira a lethal look. His eyes changed color to the lightest blue she could imagine and they held her captive, not in the romantic way, but as though she were a prisoner held paralyzed. His eyes were cold and made her shiver like she had been dropped in an arctic pool, and slowly his pupils began to expand, overtaking his eyeballs.

Kira was scared, and more than that, she felt like he knew it and didn’t care. Her fear at not being able to move was slowly surpassed by a swell of power that stirred within her as a feeling of warmth spread to her hands. Kira broke free from him and looked at the floor. Her fingertips still tingled with whatever had coursed through her and allowed her to break his gaze. Kira leaned back against her chair and away from him. She touched her fingers to her cheek and felt them burn into her skin.

“What the hell was that?” She asked unsteadily, still not looking up. The heat emanating from her hand absorbed all of Kira’s thoughts.

“Me,” he said with the venom gone from his voice. She looked at him again and caught the unbearably sad expression in his eyes before he looked away from her.

Or me? She thought to herself feeling the heat finally ebb.

kaitlyn davisAbout the author: Kaitlyn Davis graduated Phi Beta Kappa from Johns Hopkins University with a B.A. in Writing Seminars. She’s been writing ever since she picked up her first crayon and is overjoyed to finally share her work with the world. She currently lives in New York City and dreams of having a cockapoo puppy of her own.

Find Ms. Davis here: blog, Facebook, Twitter, Goodreads, YouTube, Tumblr, Wattpad, Pinterest

giveaway

3 Digital sets of The Complete Midnight Fire Series. Each copy includes all FOUR books in the series – Ignite, Simmer, Blaze & Scorch (INT)

a Rafflecopter giveaway

YA Bounk Tour Button

efchappy

 

Comments

  1. is this INT giveaway ?

    • Yes, it is. I’m sorry it didn’t include the giveaway information. I’ve added it and here is what is being given away… 3 Digital sets of The Complete Midnight Fire Series. Each copy includes all FOUR books in the series – Ignite, Simmer, Blaze, and Scorch. (INT)

Let's chat!