Spotlight: Say Nothing by Brad Parks

Say Nothing
written by Brad Parks
published by Dutton Books, 2017

find it here: (affiliate links) Barnes & Noble, Amazon, iBooks, Target, WalmartBook Depository, Goodreads

About the book – from Goodreads: Judge Scott Sampson doesn’t brag about having a perfect life, but the evidence is clear: A prestigious job. A loving marriage. A pair of healthy children. Then a phone call begins every parent’s most chilling nightmare. Scott’s six-year-old twins, Sam and Emma, have been taken. The judge must rule exactly as instructed in a drug case he is about to hear. If he refuses, the consequences for the children will be dire.

For Scott and his wife Alison, the kidnapper’s call is only the beginning of a twisting, gut-churning ordeal of blackmail, deceit, and terror. Through it all, they will stop at nothing to get their children back, no matter the cost to themselves . . . or to each other.

 

 

“Parks does a fantastic job conveying every parent’s worst fear while also showcasing the marital conflict and mistrust that erupts in the midst of a crisis. The complications and twists build to an unexpected climax that is both perfect and gut-wrenching… Fans of Harlan Coben and Lisa Gardner will love this thriller. Don’t stay silent, tell everyone.” Library Journal, Starred Review

“The novel’s final pages are exciting, surprising and deeply moving. How moving? Its ending brought me to tears, and, where books are concerned, such moments are rare… [Say Nothing] carries his work to a new level.” The Washington Post

“Parks dispenses plot twists with a poisoned eyedropper… The nerve-shredding never lets up for a minute as Parks picks you up by the scruff of the neck, shakes you vigorously, and repeats over and over again till a climax so harrowing that you’ll be shaking with gratitude that it’s finally over.” —Kirkus, Starred Review

“[Say Nothing] grips the reader from the get-go and doesn’t let up until the final twist in a story that’s filled with surprises.” —Associated Press

“[Say Nothing] begins by shocking the mind and ends by shattering the heart. The work of an author who continues to raise his sights and refine his immense talent… readers will quickly say ‘yes’ to this spellbinding, disturbing novel.” —The Richmond Times-Dispatch

“Brad Parks latest, Say Nothing, says it all—perfectly. Some books, especially stories about children acting nobly, make me mist up. But real tears, enough to require dabbing eyes? That does not happen. Yet as I finished the former Star-Ledger reporter’s latest book, I was crying… [Say Nothing] takes Parks to a new level.” —The Star-Ledger

“Shamus Award–winner Parks’s excellent domestic thriller credibly portrays a family under severe stress… [readers will] find themselves on pins and needles awaiting the reveals.”

—Publishers Weekly, Starred Review

“Terrific book. Truly terrific. Tension throughout and tears at the end. What could be better than that?” —Sue Grafton

“Outstanding—starts with a bang and gets tenser and tenser. Say Nothing shows Parks is a quality writer at the top of his form.” —Lee Child

 

Happy 2

 
 

* This post contains affiliate links.
** This post first appeared on Every Free Chance Books (everyfreechance.com) on January 20, 2018.

 
 




Comments

  1. This sounds really good!