Chrissy’s Review: By Your Side by Kasie West

By Your Side
written by Kasie West
published by Harper Teen, 2017

find it here: (affiliate links) Barnes & Noble, Amazon, iBooks, Target, WalmartBook Depository, Goodreads

Did I enjoy this book? I did enjoy By Your Side. It was a sweet read that had me reading every free chance I had.

First, how awesome would it be to be stuck in a LIBRARY with a cute boy?? What a premise! I liked where the story went after they got out of the library, too. This book also deals with a heavier subject . . . anxiety disorder. I understand why she didn’t tell her friends about it, but because it was so severe, I would have thought she would have at least told her closest friends so they could help her if the need would arise. So, while I understand her keeping it a secret, I wish she would have been open about it with her close friends. Also, With that said, there were a few things I had to overlook . . . Why couldn’t she get out of the library from the inside? And why weren’t there phones? I would think a business would have a phone. However, it was easy to overlook those circumstances and just go with the story.

All in all, this was another fun read from Ms. West. I can’t wait to read more from her.

 

Would I recommend it? Sure! It’s a good YA contemporary read.

 

Chrissy


About the book – from Goodreads: 
In this irresistible story, Kasie West explores the timeless question of what to do when you fall for the person you least expect. Witty and romantic, this paperback original from a fan favorite is perfect for fans of Stephanie Perkins and Morgan Matson.

When Autumn Collins finds herself accidentally locked in the library for an entire weekend, she doesn’t think things could get any worse. But that’s before she realizes that Dax Miller is locked in with her. Autumn doesn’t know much about Dax except that he’s trouble. Between the rumors about the fight he was in (and that brief stint in juvie that followed it) and his reputation as a loner, he’s not exactly the ideal person to be stuck with. Still, she just keeps reminding herself that it is only a matter of time before Jeff, her almost-boyfriend, realizes he left her in the library and comes to rescue her.

Only he doesn’t come. No one does.

Instead it becomes clear that Autumn is going to have to spend the next couple of days living off vending-machine food and making conversation with a boy who clearly wants nothing to do with her. Except there is more to Dax than meets the eye. As he and Autumn first grudgingly, and then not so grudgingly, open up to each other, Autumn is struck by their surprising connection. But can their feelings for each other survive once the weekend is over and Autumn’s old life, and old love interest, threaten to pull her from Dax’s side?

 

 

Happy 2

Comments

  1. jsamuelsen says:

    Yeah I find that a little weird that the phones don’t come into play. Maybe it would be more believable if they didn’t work for some reason?