Melissa’s Review: Four by Veronica Roth

Four: A Divergent Story Collection (Divergent, #0.1 - 0.4)

Four: A Divergent Collection
written by Veronica Roth
published by Harper Collins

find it here: (affiliate links) Barnes & Noble, Amazon, iBooksBook Depository, Goodreads

Did I enjoy this book: Remember the issues I had with Roth’s choice to dual-narrate Allegiant? The same goes for this book; Four is the only narrator, but I couldn’t help noticing how similar his voice is to Tris’s in the other three books. I’ve mentioned before that Roth’s writing is nothing to, erm, write home about, but I’m going to dock her a few stars here just the same; Four’s narrative voice shouldn’t sound anything like Tris’s.


Would I recommend it: It was interesting to realize just how much Four knew before Tris showed up, but unless you’re a hardcore Divergent fan, I’d stick to the trilogy and give this book a pass.


About the book – from Goodreads: 
Two years before Beatrice Prior made her choice, the sixteen-year-old son of Abnegation’s faction leader did the same. Tobias’s transfer to Dauntless is a chance to begin again. Here, he will not be called the name his parents gave him. Here, he will not let fear turn him into a cowering child.

Newly christened “Four,” he discovers during initiation that he will succeed in Dauntless. Initiation is only the beginning, though; Four must claim his place in the Dauntless hierarchy. His decisions will affect future initiates as well as uncover secrets that could threaten his own future—and the future of the entire faction system.

Two years later, Four is poised to take action, but the course is still unclear. The first new initiate who jumps into the net might change all that. With her, the way to righting their world might become clear. With her, it might become possible to be Tobias once again.

From #1 New York Times bestselling author Veronica Roth comes a companion volume to the worldwide bestselling DIVERGENT series, told from the per-spective of the immensely popular character Tobias. The four pieces included here—THE TRANSFER, THE INITIATE, THE SON, and THE TRAITOR—plus three additional exclusive scenes, give readers an electrifying glimpse into the history and heart of Tobias, and set the stage for the epic saga of the DIVERGENT trilogy.




  1. I’ve been wondering about this book since it was published. I’m definitely not a hardcore fan. My review of book 3 was kind of brutal.

    Great review!

    Terri M., the Director
    Second Run Reviews