Blog Tour: The Runaway Daughter by Juliet Philip (spotlight, giveaway)

runaway daughterThe Runaway Daughter
written by Juliet Philip
published by SparkPress

find it here: (affiliate links) Barnes & Noble, AmazonBook Depository, Goodreads

About the book: Kamada, Tara’s daughter lives in a world of magic. A world of gremlins, fairies, an airavata—spotless white elephant having four tusks and seven trunks and talking magical entities that shield her from a society where strange men act like they own the women walking down the street and where her mother sells her body in exchange for a life of luxury.

Kamada knows she doesn’t belong here. She is on a mission to escape the dirty streets of a gritty Bombay and her mother’s house which feels like a prison. Only her magical friends, a parrot astrologer who tells of the future and a neighboring family know that her dream is to leave home to study in America.

As she plans her escape, Kamada’s world is turned upside down when her mother reveals a secret and she must struggle to get an education she envisions.

efcpraise

“This is an astonishing novel, at once a glimpse into the mind of a brave and imaginative heroine and a dizzying, gritty, and shockingly real snapshot of Indian city life. There is magic here, and ugliness, and the book’s triumph is in showing us how one unusual girl refuses to let the ugliness extinguish the magic.” – Sangu Mandanna, author of The Lost Girl

“Fans of The Kite Runner and Life of Pi will be riveted by Juliet Philip’s stunning novel about a girl coming of age in Bombay. Philip’s vivid descriptions will have readers visualizing Kamada’s journey every step of the way.”- Kristin Bustamante, SheKnows.com

 

JulietPhilip-authorAbout the author: Juliet Philip loves magic, faeries, and creating things. She believes in infusing each of her creations with all the positive energy that she can manifest.  Some of the things she likes to make are books, drawings, magic, and connections with people and the universe.

She leads a self-sustainable, simple (yet busy!) life and is so very excited to share her everyday magic with you all. The Runaway Daughter is her debut novel.

Find Ms. Philip here: web, Facebook, Goodreads

giveaway

a Rafflecopter giveaway

efchappy