Review: Sworn to Raise by Terah Edun

SworntoRaiseSworn to Raise (Courtlight #1)
written by Terah Edun
published by Terah Edun

find it here: (affiliate links) Barnes & NobleAmazon, iBooks, Goodreads

Why did I pick this book: I was asked by the author to review this book. (I received a copy of this book for review purposes.)

Did I enjoy this book:
I did!  The story is fantastic: it’s a little bit Firefly, a little bit Stargate, and a little bit Harry Potter.  I was wary of a book that’s premise involved training beautiful women to be “Companions” to wealthy nobles, but I was delighted to find that Ciardis’s journey has more to do with magic than sex.  She’s a feisty young woman and a delightful character, and her story is captivating and fun.  I finished the book in less than a day.

But.

Friends, the editing just wasn’t up to par.  There were no less than three grammatical errors on the first page alone, and the trend continued throughout the text.  I know that no one’s perfect, and I know sometimes your eyes get all blurry when you’re editing and all the wordsstarttoruntogether and you think so hard about where to put a comma that you end up forgetting to place it at all, but.  When you list two different editors in your credits, I’m going to assume that means that at least three people read your text at least three times, which means by my calculations you’ve had more than enough chances to fix your mistakes.  My old college roommate tells me I’m a grammatical hard-ass.  She’s probably (read: definitely) right.

But I'd up it to 4 after another round of editing.

But I’d up it to 4 after another round of editing.

 

Would I recommend it: YES.  It’s a great read despite the editing issues, so if you can get past those, go for it! 

Will I read it again: I definitely want to read the rest of the series!

melissasig

About the book:
Seventeen-year-old Ciardis has grown up in poverty, a cleaner in a small vale on the outskirts of the kingdom. But beneath her kingdom’s seemingly idyllic surface lies a hidden secret. Whispers of an inept crown Prince are growing ever louder—intensified by the five year anniversary of the soulbond initiations.

Amidst scandalous whispers, Ciardis finds herself chosen to train for the Companion’s Guild. She leaves her home and sets off on a personal journey to become a Court Companion. A position she’d never thought possible for a lowly servant to obtain, she must prove that she has the skills to attract a Patron.

But she must master those skills quickly. If the legends are true, only Ciardis can harness the power to raise a Prince in an Imperial Court sworn to bring him down.This sensational series debut melds intricate storylines with remarkable characters and unforgettable magic. Sworn To Raise is ideal for fans of Kristin Cashore, Michelle Sagara, and Maria Snyder.

efchappy

 

Trackbacks

  1. […] like it as much as I liked the first book in the series (Sworn to Raise – you can read my review HERE).  I suppose I was hoping for round two to involve some deeper character development (and […]

  2. […] did I pick this book: I read the first two books in the Courtlight series. (See my reviews here: Sworn to Raise and Sworn to Transfer.) I signed up for the blog tour hosted by Girls Heart Books Tour. (I […]

  3. […] I pick this book: I read the first three books in the Courtlight series. (See my reviews here: Sworn to Raise, Sworn to Transfer, and Sworn to Conflict.) I participated up for the blog tour hosted by Girls […]